Angelos Antonopoulos

Angelos Antonopoulos

Senior Researcher

Division: Communication Technologies
Category: Research
Phone: +34 93 645 29 00     Ext: 2204
Fax: +34 93 645 29 01

Personal Webpage (Updated):



Short Bio: Angelos Antonopoulos is currently a Senior Researcher at Telecommunications Technological Centre of Catalonia (CTTC). He received the Ph.D. degree (Cum Laude) from the Signal Theory and Communications (TSC) Department of the Technical University of Catalonia (UPC) in December 2012, while he holds an M.Eng. degree from the Information and Communication Systems Engineering Department (ICSDE) of the University of the Aegean (2007). His PhD dissertation “Network Coding-aided MAC Protocols for Cooperative Networks” was awarded as the Best UPC Thesis in ICT.

His main research interests lie on the area of 5G (and beyond) wireless networking and include network architectures, network planning, vertical and over-the-top (OTT) services, radio resource management, content caching and dissemination, device-to device (D2D) communications, energy efficiency aspects and cooperative communications. He has participated in several European and Spanish national projects (e.g., IoSense, SemIoTics, GREENET, Green-T, CO2Green, etc.) and has served as an expert evaluator of research projects funded by the Romanian Government through the National Council for Scientific Research.

He currently serves as an Associate Editor in IEEE Networking Letters, Security and Communications Networks (Wiley) and Inventions (MDPI). He has been granted three annual scholarships by the Greek State Scholarships Foundation (IKY) and he has been awarded by the Technical Chamber of Greece (TEE-TGC) for Exceptional Graduate Performance. He was nominated as Exemplary Reviewer for the IEEE Communications Letters (January 2015) and Reviewer of the Month for the IEEE Access (June 2018), while he has received the best paper award in IEEE GLOBECOM 2014, the best demo award in IEEE CAMAD 2014, the 1st prize in the  IEEE ComSoc Student Competition (as a Mentor) and the EURACON best student paper award in EuCNC 2016. He is an IEEE Senior Member since 2015 and he is currently the Secretary of the IEEE ComSoc Technical Committee on Communication Systems Integration and Modeling (CSIM).