Ana Isabel Pérez-Neira

Ana Isabel Pérez-Neira

Director, Research Director (R4), Head of Department

Division: Communication Systems
Category: Management, Research
Phone: +34 93 645 29 00
Fax: +34 93 645 29 01

Academic Degree:

• B.Sc., Electrical Engineering, Universitat Ramon Llull (Cataluña), 1989

• Telecommunications Engineer, Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya (UPC), 1991

• PhD. Telecom,  UPC 1995


Professor at UPC (Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya) since 2006. Fellow Researcher of CTTC with strong background in physical layer techniques for wireless communications and experience in European projects.


2013-2021: Scientific Coordinator at CTTC

2021-2023: Vice-President for Conference of IEEE Signal Processing Society (elected)
2010-2014: Vicerector for Research at UPC (creation of UPC Doctoral School)
2012: Founder of Doctoral School UPC
2013- present: Responsible for Space Communications at CTTC
2006: Professor, Signal Theory and Communications, Universitat Politecnica de Cataluña

•IEEE Fellow
•ICREA Academia
•Elected member at RACAB (Real Academia de las Ciencias y las Artes de Barcelona)

Her research topic is signal processing for communications and currently she is working in multi-antenna and multicarrier signal processing, both, for satellite communications and wireless systems. She has been in the board of directors of ETSETB (Telecom Barcelona) from 2000-03 and Vicerector for Research at UPC (2010-13). She created UPC Doctoral School (2011). From 2008-2016 she has been member of EURASIP BoD (European Signal Processing Association), from 2010-2016 member of IEEE SPTM (Signal Processing Theory and Methods), from 2016-2018  she has been elected SPS Regional Director-at-Large. Currently she is member of the Board of Governors of IEEE Signal Processing Society and of the Technical Committee on SP for Communications. She is the coordinator of the European project SANSA and of the Network of Excellence on satellite communications, financed by the European Space Agency: SatnexIV-V. She has been the leader of 20 projects and has participated in over 50 (10 for European Space Agency). She is author of more than 60 journal papers (25 related with Satcom) and more than 200 conference papers (20 invited). She is co-author of 4 books and 5 patents (one on satcom). She has been guest editor in 5 special issues and associate editor of the IEEE Transactions on Signal Processing, EURASIP Advances in Signal Processing and Eurasip Signal Processing. She is the EURASIP liaison for Spain. She has been the general chair of IWCLD’09, EUSIPC’11, EW’14, IWSCS’14 and ASMS/SPSC’16, ICASSP2020 (with more than 15000 virtual attendees). Currently she is the Vice-President for Conference of the IEEE SPS. She is recipient for the 2018 EURASIP Society Award. She is IEEE Fellow.

Google Scholar at: For more information:


Keywords: Signal Processing, Wireless Communication Systems, Satellite Communications, Cellular Communications, Array and Multi-channel processing, MIMO systems, Fuzzy Logic, Multi-user Systems, Cross-layer PHY/MAC optimization


  • Development and monitoring of the Strategic and Functional Plan
  • Space Program
  • Suitability of master, pre-doc and post-doc within the Strategic Plan
  • ERC Program and individual researcher oriented programs
Books & Chapters
, , D. Gregoratti, , M. Haardt, Y. Cheng, L. Gomes Baltar, MIMO-FBMC Transceivers , Chapter in Orthogonal Waveforms and Filter Banks for Future Communication Systems, edited by Markku Renfors, Xavier Mestre, Eleftherios Kofidis and Faouzi Bader. ISBN: 978-0-12-810384-5, July 2017, published by Elsevier/Academic Press.