Christos Verikoukis

Christos Verikoukis

Head of Department, Fellow Researcher

Division: Communication Technologies
Category: Research

Christos Verikoukis  got his Ph.D. from the Technical University of Catalonia (UPC) in 2000. He is currently a Fellow Researcher at CTTC (Head of the SMARTECH department) and an adjunct professor at Barcelona University (Electronics Department). He has published 122 journal papers (h-index 32) and over 180 conference papers. He is also co-author in 3 books, 16 chapters in different books and he filled 2 patents. He has supervised 15 Ph.D. students and 5 Post Docs researchers since 2004.

Dr. Verikoukis has participated in more than 40 competitive projects while he has served as the Principal investigator in national projects in Greece and in Spain. He served as the technical manager of the ITN-GREENET, the ITN-5GSTEPFWD, the CELTIC-GREEN-T and LOOP projects.

He has received the best paper award of the Communication QoS, Reliability & Modelling Symposium (CQRM) symposium in the IEEE ICC 2011 & ICC 2014, of the Selected Areas in Communications Symposium in the IEEE GLOBECOM 2015 , of the EUCNC 2016 conference, the EURASIP 2013 Best Paper Award for the Journal on Advances in Signal Processing and the Best Demo Award in IEEE CAMAD2018.

He is currently serving as the Associate Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Networking Letters and as an Associate Editor of the IEEE Communications Surveys and Tutorials, of the IEEE Networks Magazine and of the IEEE Transactions of Green Communications and Networking. Moreover, he has served as a Guest Editor in 14 special issues in prestigious Journals and Magazines (IEEE Communications Magazine, IEEE Networks Magazine, IEEE Wireless Communications Magazine etc..).

He was the general Chair of the 17th, 18th, 19th, 20th and the 22nd IEEE Workshop on Computer-Aided Modelling, Analysis and Design of Communication Links and Networks (CAMAD), the TPC Co-Chair of the 15th IEEE International Conference on eHealth Networking, Application & Services (Healthcom) and the 7th IEEE Latincom. He was also served as the symposium co-chair of the CQRM symposium in the IEEE ICC 2015 & 2016 and in the IEEE Globecom 2017 as well as of the eHealth Symposium in IEEE Globecom 2015.

He was an officer (Secretary 2013-2014, Vice-Chair 2014-2015 and Chair 2015-2018) of the IEEE ComSoc Technical Committee on Communication Systems Integration and Modelling (CSIM). He is currently the Vice-Chair of the IEEE ComSoc Technical Committees Board.

Dr. Verikoukis has served as independent expert acting as an evaluator in different research funding agencies EC (FP7 and H2020), ARTEMIS JU, EURIPIDES, ERA.Net, Spain (ANEP, and AGAUR), Qatar (QNRF), Swiss (SNSF), Hellenic States Scholarship foundations, Academy of Finland, Hellenic Ministry for Education, KAUST University, United Arab Emirates University, EDGE program.



PhD Students
  • J. Bastos “Green Handover for Heterogeneous Systems” @UB
  • G. Tseliou “Virtualization in LTE-A” @UPC
  • P. Trakas “Network Economics for data off-loading in cellular networks” @UPC
  • M. Oikonomakou “Infrastructure Sharing in 5G wireless networks” @UPC
  • I. Zenginis “Demand Response in Smart Grids” @UPC
  • B. Ojaghi Kahjogh "Dynamic Slicing in 5G Networks" @UPC
  • S. Sánchez Correa "Machine Learning for 5G Networks" @UPC
  • Asmaa Badr "Data Driven for Dynamic Slicing in 5G Networks" @UPC
  • M. Mosahebfard "Optical Wireless Converge Optimisation for 5G Networks" @UPC
  • M. Maule "Implementation dynamic slicing for 5G Networks" @UPC
Former PhD Students
  • E. Datsika “Radio resource management techniques for QoS provision in 5G networks” 26/11/2018 @UPC
  • P.-V. Mekikis, "Design and Stochastic Analysis of Emerging Large-Scale Wireless-Powered Sensor Networks", 13/11/2017 @UPC.
  • G. Kalfas, “Medium -Transparent MAC protocols for converged optical wireless networks” 12/05/2017 @UPC
  • V. Miliotis “Energy Efficient Offloading Techniques for Heterogeneous Networks” 11/3/2016 @UPC
  • A. Boussia “Design of Energy Efficient Network Planning Schemes for LTE-based Cellular Networks” 18/1/2016 @UPC. PREMI EXTRAORDINARI DE DOCTORAT 2018 awarded by the UPC
  • A. Mesodiakaki “Exploiting Cognition for Energy and Spectrum Efficient Wireless Networks” 09/11/2015 @UPC. PREMI EXTRAORDINARI DE DOCTORAT 2018 awarded by the UPC
  • C. Ntontin “Exploiting SpatialModulation and Analog Network Coding for the Design of Energy-EfficientWireless Networks” 03/11/2015 @UPC
  • K. Niotaki “Design of Efficient Microwave Power Amplifier Systems”, 15/12/2014, @UPC
  • D. Xenakis, “Localization and Mobility Management in Heterogeneous Wireless Networks with Network-Assistance”, 31/7/2014, @ University of Athens
  • E. Ibarra, “Energy Harvesting-Aware Resource Management for Wireless Body Area Networks, 21/5/2014, @ Universidad de Barcelona
  • A.Antonopoulos, “Network Coding-aided MAC Protocols for CooperativeWireless Networks” @UPC, PREMI EXTRAORDINARI DE DOCTORAT 2015 awarded by the UPC.
  • E.Karsakli “Cross-Layer design and optimization of Medium Access Control protocols for Wireless Local Access Networks”, 16/02/2012 @UPC.
  • B.Otal “Optimization of Wireless Ambient and Body Sensor Networks for Medical Applications”, 13/05/2010, @UPC.
  •  J. Alonso “Design and Analysis of Medium Access Control Protocols for Ad Hoc and Cooperative Wireless Networks”, 25/02/2009. PREMI EXTRAORDINARI DE DOCTORAT 2011 awarded by the UPC.
J. Bastos, V. Monteiro, J. Rodriguez, R. Aguero, D. Gomez, Y. Fernández, M. Peña, F. Bader, , J. Herrero, B. Cendón, M. Raspopoulos, S. Stavrou, M. Cabañas, J. Sainz and M. R. Santos, Mobility Concepts for IMT-Advanced , in Proceedings of 6th International Mobile Multimedia Communications Conference (MOBIMEDIA 2010), 6-8 September 2010, Lisbon (Portugal).