Miquel Payaró

Miquel Payaró

Head of Division, Senior Researcher (R3)

Division: Communication Technologies
Category: Management, Research
Phone: +34 93 645 29 00     Ext: 2220
Fax: +34 93 645 29 01

Miquel received the Electrical Engineering and the Ph.D. degrees from the Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya (UPC), Barcelona, Spain, in 2002 and 2007, respectively. He conducted his Ph.D. studies at CTTC under the supervision of Prof. Miguel Á. Lagunas and from September 2005 to February 2006 he held a visiting research appointment at the University of New South Wales (UNSW), Sydney, Australia with Prof. Jinhong Yuan.  From February 2007 to December 2008 he was a Post Doctoral Research Associate in the Department of Electronic and Computer Engineering at the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (HKUST) under the supervision of Dr. Daniel P. Palomar.

Currently, Miquel is a senior researcher and the Head of the Communications Technologies Division (CTD) at the Centre Tecnològic de Telecomunicacions de Catalunya (CTTC), which he joined in 2009. The CTD was created in April 2013 and, since then, has been the home of about 20 permanent researchers and up to 10 temporary staff and visitors. Miquel is the main editor and coordinator of the sections related to the CTD within the CTTC Strategic and Functional Plan, where the main research lines and key areas and technologies for the future are being defined. He also leads the recruiting process within CTD, serving as President for all the evaluation committees. In 2014 and 2017, the CTD was awarded the Consolidated Research Group category by the Catalan government, which was endowed in both occasions with associated research funds (only top research groups are funded). Before his role as Head of the CTD, Miquel was appointed Head of the Engineering Unit from January 2011 to March 2013. Within the Engineering Unit, besides conducting his own research, he coordinated the R&D activities of a group of around 20 researchers. After his two-year term, the Engineering Unit achieved an R&D income increase of more than 70 % with respect to the previous years. From September 2017 to December 2019, Miquel was appointed a board member of the 5G Infrastructure Association (5G IA) and he also represented CTTC in the steering boards of NetWorld2020 and Wireless World Research Forum (WWRF). Miquel was re-elected as a board member of the 5G IA in September 2018 and as a member of the NetWorld2020 steering board in December 2018. During this period, Miquel was involved in different task forces and working groups that generated several white papers, mainly related to the deployment of 5G in Europe and its applications for vertical industries.

Since 2009, Miquel has led and participated in several research contracts with the industry (with companies like Aviat Networks or GMV) as well as in research projects from the Seventh Framework Program and H2020 of the EC, such as BuNGee, BeFEMTO, or, more recently, Newcom#, where he led a work package focused on experimental activities related to radio interfaces for 5G systems. From July 2015 to June 2017, Miquel served as Technical Manager in the H2020 / 5G PPP project Flex5Gware. In Flex5Gware (a 17-partner and 8 M€ project), flexible, reconfigurable HW/SW communication platforms for fifth-generation (5G) mobile services and applications were studied and key building blocks were prototyped. Miquel will serve as administrative Project Manager in the upcoming 5G PPP MARSAL project, where aspects related to technologies beyond 5G / 6G will be studied and prototyped. Within the Spanish National Plan, Miquel has participated in four consecutive projects, being the Principal Investigator in the last two of them (AEThER and 5G-TRIDENT).

Miquel is a Senior Member of IEEE and is serving as Associate Editor of IEEE Transactions on Wireless Communications and has been Guest Editor of the Transactions on Emerging Telecommunication Technologies 2015 Special Issue on “Enabling 5G: energy and spectrally efficient communication systems.” He has also served as part of the Organizing Committee of EUSIPCO 2011, European Wireless 2014 (Publicity co-Chair), ICASSP 2020 (serving as Finance Chair) and has been the TPC Chair of the CLEEN workshop in 2017, 2018, 2019, and 2020. Miquel has also co-organized special sessions and workshops in international conferences like Globecom, ICC or EuCNC and has given invited talks both in academia and in industry events (e.g., at Orange Labs, Nokia-Bell-Labs, etc.).

As far as his scientific and technical interests are concerned, Miquel’s background is on signal processing theory for wireless communication systems and the scope of his research has progressively shifted towards addressing aspects related to experimentation and practical implementation, with a clear focus on 5G and beyond systems. Miquel is coauthor of 20 book chapter and journal publications and 50+ conferences and has supervised 2 PhD theses. He has been invited to be part of the evaluation committee in 10 PhD defenses and is serving as a reviewer for the French ANR. His works have been cited 1656 times and feature an H-index of 16.  (https://scholar.google.es/citations?user=fvpIhwIAAAAJ&hl=es).

Books & Chapters
, V. Frascolla, A. Georgakopoulos, P. Demestichas, C. Manero, F. Pujol, 5G deployment in Europe , Chapter in the 5G Italy Book 2019: a Multiperspective View of 5G, published by CNIT. ISBN: 9788832170030. December 2019.
C. Chang, D. Sabella, D. García-Roger, D. Ferling, F. Tillman, G. Dell\\\\\\\'Aera, L. Gomes Baltar, M. Färber, , N. Nikaein, P. Serrano, R. Knopp, S. Roger, S. Mayrargue, T. Rautio, Implementation of Hardware and Software Platforms , Chapter in 5G System Design: Architectural and Functional Considerations and Long Term Research, published by Wiley. ISBN: 978-1-119-42512-0. May 2018.
J. Alcaraz-Calero, I. Belikaidis, C. Jesús Bernardos Cano, P. Bisson, D. Bourse, M. Bredel, D. Camps-Mur, T. Chen, X. Costa, P. Demestichas, M. Doll, S. Eddine Elayoubi, A. Georgakopoulos, A. Mämmelä, H. Mayer, , B. Sayadi, M. Shuaib Siddiqui, M. Tercero, Q. Wang, Leading Innovations Towards 5G: Europe’s Perspective in 5G Infrastructure Public-Private Partnership (5G-PPP) , in Proceedings of IEEE International Symposium on Personal, Indoor and Mobile Radio Communications (PIMRC'17), 08-10 October 2017, Montreal (Canada).
O. Marinchenco, N. Chayat, A. Burr, A. Papadogiannis, M. Dohler, , M. Ware, BuNGee Project Overview , in Proceedings of the 3rd International IEEE Conference on Microwaves, Communications, Antennas and Electronic Systems (IEEE COMCAS 2011), 7-9 November 2011, Tel Aviv (Isrrael).